My next challenge?

Well, my next challenge is being the next ICKEPS workshop 2009, that will be done the next 20th September, in Greece.

The International Competition on Knowledge Engineering for Planning and Scheduling has been running since 2005 as a biannual event promoting the development and importance of the use of knowledge engineering methods and techniques within P & S. 

This year ICKEPS will focus on a specific aspect of knowledge engineering technology: tools, translators and techniques that when input with a model described in an application-area-specific language, output solver-ready domain models. For example, they would like to encourage application developers in Web Services, Workflow, Business Modelling, E-Learning, Games, Narrative Generation etc to utilise planning technology. 

This is exactly what I worked out last year. At the moment I’m developing a Java framework that will carry on a translation process from XPDL (BPM language) to PDDL (planning language). Let’s see what happen. I don’t imagine I can win the contest at this early phase of development, but just meeting with some other people that look into similar problems will be worthy and exciting.

Results extracted from this development will be the final chapter for my PhD Thesis, hopefully presented next Spring 2010.

And … that’s it! I’m sorry I can’t go to the Gran Canaria Desktop Summit this summer, and I’m sorry for being so “lost” these days. Have a good time there🙂

Responder

